Echoes

A list of things that have actually been said to me over the course of my life, which echo in my mind when things are particularly bad:

“It’s too bad you weren’t a boy.”

“Do you need some prozac in your cornflakes?”

“Don’t be such a drama queen.”

“I don’t want to see a bipolar girl, ever.”

“Bipolar people kill kids.”

“Do you ever live in the real world, or do you just live vicariously through stories?”

Do you have echoes? How do you cope when they’re just echoing around in your head, tormenting you? I usually sleep. I’m much safer asleep than I am awake, trying to cope with my demons.

4 Comments

Filed under Then

4 responses to “Echoes

  1. john

    Do you have echoes? Yes How do you cope when they’re just echoing around in your head, tormenting you? I usually drank. I’m much safer asleep than I am awake, trying to cope with my demons.

    • Well, alcohol does numb the brain a bit, but it isn’t the healthiest coping skill around. (Granted, neither is eating myself into a stupor, as I am prone to doing…) Be safe.

  2. “You’re nothing but a master manipulator. God help any man who gets caught in your web. Your mother trained you well.” –my dad. I’ve been married 17 years, by the way. And my husband really likes my web.

    • *chuckles* Man. That is harsh! Your dad and mine could be contemporaries. I’m glad that you were able to overcome and find a man that can see you for who you are- and can appreciate a proper web when he sees it. 😉

Leave a Reply

