On projects, both finished and… well… not so finished

Sometimes I completely suck at keeping up with this blog. I have fantastic intentions, which is the case in 99% of my projects, but I’m not the best at keeping up with things. I actually have done markedly better with this blog project than at most things. Though, to be honest, I don’t start too many doomed projects anymore, because I put more thought and consideration into things before I start. I can be extraordinarily impulsive. I have dozens of unfinished craft projects taking up space in my shop, that I occasionally shuffle around before deciding yep, still don’t really want to finish that one, either. I am doing a lot better about being more selective about what I do start, and trying much harder to follow it through, even if it takes me a million, billion years.

Of course, this doesn’t work for all of my projects. I just reorganized my shop because it was starting to look like an episode of Hoarders down there. I organized all my large bins full of stuff- mostly yarn and fabric, and displays for when I do sales- and shuffled a couple of projects that I still really, really want to do at some point into the same bin together, so at least they’re keeping each other company. The displays mostly nest inside one another, and they’re all taking up a bin. I have another bin full of yarn, and a second bin full of unfinished crochet projects (and a few finished ones that need homes.) I have another bin of miscellaneous fabric, mostly left over from costume projects for the Renaissance Faire. I like to make patchwork quilt-style swooshy tiered skirts for my character, so I save little odds and ends. So long as those odds and ends stay in their bin, they can hang out, I suppose. I have a bin full of shipping supplies, large feathers, and flowers that I don’t even remember what I was going to do with. Six bins in total, and a seventh hiding under my table full of costume props. I need more shelves for my bead and decoupage work. I can keep compressing my yarn forever. Yarn is nice and squishy. Beads aren’t.

So much stuff, and so many unfinished projects! The worst is when I find a project hanging out that had been buried on accident, and was a totally awesome gift or commission that I completely forgot about. I found one of those today, cringed, and quietly set it down to figure out what to do with it. I swept the floor and cleaned up all the little paper shreds that I recycle as packaging material. I dusted all the ceiling crud off my tables. My space is shining again. Just in time for me to break out the Christmas projects. There will soon be decoupage papers EVERYWHERE.

2 Comments

Filed under Now

2 responses to “On projects, both finished and… well… not so finished

  1. James Claims

    I know how you feel in terms of lots of projects that remain unfinished. I always cringe at all the things that I’ve bought that I don’t use. I’ve heard that it’s not uncommon in people with bipolar to have unfinished projects. So don’t beat yourself up too much.

    • I probably keep the Goodwill by me up to their ears in strange donations, anyway, whenever I cull through the projects and get rid of the things I know I’ll never do. It always hurts a bit to be reminded that I spent money on something I never used, but at least I’m releasing it to the wild for someone else to utilize. I think the real trick will be not buying those things in the *first* place…

Leave a Reply

