Waking up is hard to do

I have significant sleep problems. I’ve always been a night owl, and this has only been beneficial when I worked second shift at Wendy’s. Even then, I would still have occasional first shift days scheduled and it felt like I was going to die, having to drag myself out of bed.

I’ve been making a concerted effort to get to bed by 11, especially on work nights. I take two benedryl to help me sleep, and due to the panic attacks I sometimes have at night, two klonopin to relax and help me sleep.

Seriously, once I’m out, I’m *out.* Waking up eight hours later is a monumental undertaking. I’m groggy and want nothing more in life than to roll over and not get up ever. I have to set my alarm for an hour earlier than I need to get up just to start the wake-up process or I will never hear my alarm when it’s actually important, and then it’s sort of a shambling dash to get out the door. I’m usually cutting it close. My new supervisor has moved our meeting time from 8:30 to 8:00, so my already groggy self is struggling more and more. I’ve been trying to make sure I’m in bed by 10:30 now. And I thought 11 was hard! Oi.

And then sometimes I wake up at four to pee, and have a sinus headache, and have to eat something so the meds for the sinus headache don’t make my stomach hurt… Not sure if going back to bed now is a good idea, as it’s currently five, but I’m tired enough that hopefully it will be fine.

Hopefully.

Leave a comment

Filed under Now, Then

Leave a Reply

