I am not always the best at reading calendars.

So I *did* write a post for today, but managed to schedule it for tomorrow, so have an interrupting post!

I saw my therapist today. My mom and sister want me to go up there this weekend, as my sister is going up to work on wedding shower stuff.

My response is sort of a hysterical giggle, followed by a whole lot of this:

tenth nope

(I do not know why my gif failed. Click it if it won’t work for you, it’ll open in a larger window.)

After the last several times I’ve visited have led to serious debacles and/or nigh-international incidents… why would I willingly throw myself at my family’s mercy AGAIN?

I’ve had enough fat shaming and food policing for the year, thanks. I’m honestly contemplating not going to my sister’s shower but I’m pretty sure she’ll kill me if I do that.

I try to do what little mental health and fat activism I can, both in my little corner of the interwebs, and here and there on Facebook and such. But after all the craziness that’s happened this week, I’ve been getting a lot of “fat people should kill themselves” and “crazy people should kill themselves.”

So… I definitely am taking a vacation from several parts of the internet. It was so triggering I pretty much just played solitaire the other day while talking to friends, rather than my usual surfing, because every page was full of more hatred and vitriol than the one before.

After spending the weekend suicidal, seeing THAT many people telling me I should kill myself because I’m fat and/or mentally ill, does not do good things to my head, no.

2 Comments

Filed under Civil Rights, Fat Rights, Mental Health Rights, Now

2 responses to “I am not always the best at reading calendars.

  1. Morbid Insanity

    “seeing THAT many people telling me I should kill myself because I’m fat and/or mentally ill, does not do good things to my head, no.”
    Exactly! So, don’t listen to people who tell you things like that. If someone doesn’t like you the way you are, it’s because the person doesn’t deserve to be part of your life.

    • Yes, and usually it’s an anon someplace, so it really, really shouldn’t matter to my life. It affects me far less than someone whose opinion I care about, but it’s hard when there’s a lot of it coming in, or I end up tripping over a lot of it someplace.

      But yeah, not listening and moving on are critical.

Leave a Reply

