I’m surrounded by armchair psychiatrists

So Monday morning/afternoonish, I was in a bit of a funk. I’ve been having trouble falling asleep when I want to and staying asleep (more the second bit,) and so I end up needing to sleep later but my nephew (who now lives here) is Very Two and Very Loud at obscene o’clock in the morning, so… yeah, not sure about the overall quality of my sleep in the last few months. I had been having weird dreams and woke up unsettled, and then watched Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and felt even MORE unsettled. I’m starting to think Harry Potter is a bit much for me, to be honest. My brother has all of the movies except for The Deathly Hallows 1 & 2, and my nephew loves Harry Potter, so he’s equally as likely to be watching that as he is to be working through the Pixar collection. I watched my nephew for an hour or so while my brother went and talked to a general manager somewhere, and finished out the movie once my brother and nephew left for a while, and just felt unsettled, and a bit angry.

Lately, it seems that everybody around me- my parents, my mom’s therapist, my boss- knows more about my mental illness and what I need, than I do. It feels an awful lot like what happens when other people who make my fat their business, and doubt my own experiences as a fat person, so I’m going to go with the idea that I’m being completely ignored because clearly I don’t actually know what’s best for me. It’s rude, it’s demeaning, and it makes me feel like I’m incompetent and need a guardian appointed by the court or something.

It just keeps coming up, different variations of the same theme; I’m not pushing myself enough, I’m not really that sick, I give up too easily, I could do more if I wanted to and I just don’t want to. I wish I could let some of these people spend a week in my head and see how well they manage. I’ve actually gone more than a month since missing any work, which is a goddamn miracle and hasn’t happened in YEARS, but I’m working around 28 hours a week because more than that and I had problems. I wonder how I’ll handle a 40 hour week, but as I doubt I’ll be doing quite the same amount of physical labor, and I’ll hopefully be making more than minimum wage, I think I’ll be able to handle it. I can handle mental exhaustion far, far better than physical exhaustion, for one, and for two, just about every other career field in the world is less in-your-face stressful than customer service.

Being physically busy does quiet my brain a bit, so that’s nice, but as soon as I slow down the noise is back, which is part of why I’m having trouble sleeping. I’m struggling to process through a lot and so much has changed. I’m not going to group anymore, as it was mostly a waste of my time. I’m halfheartedly looking for another support group but I don’t really get anything out of the format. I tried, and I’ve genuinely tried in the past, but it just doesn’t work for me. Of course, this is another thing that everybody else knows more than me about how I can handle it, and I just didn’t try hard enough, or participate enough.

It’s like religion all over again. I walked away after being told one too many times that if I just had more faith, God would heal me of my mental illness. My every failure was because I didn’t have enough faith, even though I was pretty damn sure I was as faithful as I could be. It wasn’t the lack of faith, it was how nothing on the other end was changing. I was being blamed for being sick and not fixing myself… and it’s happening again. It’s my fault that I’m still bipolar. If I’d just do what everyone else knows I should be doing, I’d be better. I’d be employed and get to live independently again, get my cat back, get my life back in order, but I’m not doing what everyone else wants, so I deserve to suffer.

2 Comments

Filed under Civil Rights, Fat Rights, Mental Health Rights, Now

2 responses to “I’m surrounded by armchair psychiatrists

  1. Concerned

    How about a post on the phenomenon of “mansplaining”? I’m intrigued.

    • I’m not entirely sure I want to write a post about mansplaining, but here is a tumblr documenting the phenomenon and here is “A Cultural History of Mansplaining” by Lily Rothman. The examples illustrate it pretty accurately; basically, it is the patriarchy rearing its ugly head in an extremely offensive act that is perpetuated ALL THE GODDAMN TIME by men who feel they know more about something and need to explain it in as condescending a manner as possible to the poor, stupid woman he is trying to educate. It is offensive and hurtful and makes me want to roll my eyes so hard they’ll fall clean out of my skull, and it happens to me all the time. It seems to be happening more now that I’m working a minimum wage job because OBVIOUSLY I am a complete idiot or I’d have a better job, nevermind that I have a bachelor’s degree, am trying to get my shit in order so I can go back to school for my master’s, I am presently working on learning a second language, I write, I create beautiful pieces of art in several different forms, and I AM NOT AN IDIOT. So yes. Mansplaining is just another way our patriarchal society enforces the gender norms, however subconscious it might be, because these men have been conditioned their entire lives to believe that no matter what, they are right, and they are smarter than women.

Leave a Reply

