Still plodding along

Work is still work. I’ve been doing a LOT of cleaning there, as we have an inspection coming up and we need to be at our best. I like to clean but my hands are really quite unhappy with me… I end up wearing my carpal tunnel brace when I’m not scrubbing something, to hold my hand at a good angle so it stops hurting (as much, anyway.) I had a longish day today and two full long days in the next two, so wish me luck on that. I told my manager to schedule me a solid cleaning shift on Monday so I can finish scrubbing all the chairs in the dining room, as it took me an hour and a half to do fifteen chairs. There are many more than fifteen, but those fifteen look amazing. I also cleaned all the walls, which were pretty gross from everybody’s insisting on touching them (seriously, don’t touch the walls at restaurants, they are grungy as all hell) and it didn’t hurt my hands as much as scrubbing chairs did.

I’ve not heard back from my former coworker who runs group homes, so I’ll be giving her a call in the morning. Hopefully something good can come of this. I’d really, really like to get back into my field, get my feet under me, and start making progress instead of just treading water.

I had two commissions from the ice storm sale (which is still going on, by the way; Helpful Cat Creations will give you a 10% discount with the code ICESTORM. I’ve finished a bunch of bracelets and plan to photograph them in the morning, as well as the one commission I’ve finished. The other bracelet is done except for the charms, which I am still waiting for. One was backordered and should arrive in another week or so. I have no idea what’s up with the other charm.

I desperately need to find my desk and organize my craft materials so I can find things again, and keep working on jewelry. The consignment shop wants some spring stuff to show off, so I need to get my butt in gear and create something springlike, not that I have any thoughts at the moment. A coworker wants to commission a crocheted angel to be a tree topper for his mom, and I just need to get around to the research of exactly what sort of torture I will be inflicting on myself by taking him up on it. I definitely will, I need the money. I’m behind on my student loan that I cannot defer and blegh. There are other things I’d rather spend my money on, that’s for sure. I really, really could use a better job. Time to start looking in earnest again.

I’ve restarted my yoga now that I can breathe again, and hope to keep it up as a nightly exercise. It feels so good to stretch out after a busy day at work. I’ve been carrying a lot of tension in my neck that is making my whole back seize up by the end of the night, but a good stretching workout has done wonders. Getting back into the swing of it ought to be just what the doctor ordered.

Leave a comment

Filed under Now

Leave a Reply

